Skip to content

Playing at The Broadway: Fantastic Mr. Fox

November 30, 2009

Broadway Centre Cinemas

Have you ever had a grin on your face for an entire movie?  Roald Dahl wrote the story of Fantastic Mr. Fox and Wes Anderson gave animated life and George Clooney’s voice to that stellar fox.  Roald Dahl was an incredible author with a charmingly morbid sense of story writing.  His lighthearted macabre can be witnessed in Dahl stories such as Matilda, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, James and the Giant Peach, and Pig.

Wes Anderson’s Fantastic Mr. Fox has the same terrific Dahl story, typical dazzling, sinister, and/or hilarious Dahl characters, as the case may be, and delightfully riveting animation.  One aspect of movies that I probably appreciate more than any other is dialogue.  I love clever dialogue.  Keep your neck-snapping Steven Segal.  Get lost with your special effects Lord of the Rings guys.  Go fly a kite with your super sexiness Natalie Portman (I don’t mean that Natalie).  Give me good dialogue!  Well in addition to other things (see above), Fantastic Mr. Fox has thought-provoking cleverness to its rapid-fire dialogue.  I was laughing then worried that I’d missed something while I was laughing.

Listen folks, I’m an adult.  I really liked Fantastic Mr. Fox.  It’s rated PG which means it’s one of the few quality shows you feel comfortable taking your kids to.  I recommended it to my sister who has an 8 year old and a 5 year old.  That should tell you how much I like it without seeing either one of my thumbs.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

