Skip to content

Phatal Pheromone; Model Citizen continues the Salt City Derby Girls

June 2, 2009

Phatal portrait 2 copy

Bomber Babe Captain; Phatal Pheromone

Phatal helmet

Click “Read the Rest of this Story” to view a Q&A with Phatal Pheromone.

Volition Magazine: How did you get involved with Roller Derby?

Phatal Pheromone: I was living in Colorado at the time Salt City Derby Girls was formed. A friend of mine called to tell me I needed to move back to play. When I finally moved back I had so many things going on I could not commit to something else. Another derby girl I knew, prior to derby, begged me to give it a shot. I mulled it over for a bit, but things had calmed down enough that I had the time and knew I would regret it if I didn’t try.

VM: How long have you been with the Derby?

Phatal:Three seasons. I started in February of 2007

VM: What do you do for a living?

Phatal:Veterinary Technician. I LOVE my job!

VM: What is your favorite part?

Phatal: There is so much about derby to love. I have made some fantastic friends that I would do anything for. You see so much confidence grow in people. You’re always being pushed to be stronger, faster, and better, not just in derby, but in every day life as well.

Part of the mission statement for the Salt City Derby Girls is “to build up our skaters physically and mentally, so that we may conquer any challenges both on and off the track. In order to form an unbreakable bond of sisterhood, we strive to promote and nurture positive and healthy friendships amongst the skaters”. I really think we have succeeded in doing this for a lot of girls. That and I get to hit chicks…

VM: What do you do to get amped for a game?

Phatal:I clean and fine tune my skates, a lot of visualization and music. “Symphony of Destruction” by Megadeth and Dropkick Murphys get played a lot on my iPod on bout days.

VM: How long have you been skating?

Phatal: I started ice figure skating when I was pretty young. I grew tired of that so I moved onto other sports with more contact and team involvement including basketball, track, and ice hockey. I played a year of ice hockey on a team with my dad and brother. When I tried out for derby, I had been on roller skates a total of four times.

VM: Education? Some college. Status?

Phatal: Still working on it…

VM: What are your favorite movies/music/books? You will be hard pressed to find a movie I don’t like. Even if it isn’t a good movie, I enjoy drooling over the pretty colors.

Phatal: My taste in music ranges all over the board. Not a huge hip hop or country fan, but anything else is fair game, including Frank Sinatra and The Rat Pack. I mostly stick to all things Metal though.

Chuck Palahniuk, Kurt Vonnegut, David Sedaris, and Christopher Moore are some of my favorites. Anything with a sick and twisted sense of humor, I like. I also like the cheesy Sci-fi stuff. Jack L. Chalker has been my favorite for that lately.

You never asked, but it fits here so…I also love playing video games and comic books!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

