Skip to content

Model Citizen: Lindsey Lambert

February 13, 2009

lambert

bench-piano

inside-piano

linlamback

limlampiano

linlamp


Volition staffer spotted Lindsey at an Excellence in the Community concert where she was playing, you guessed it, piano for Lark and Spur.  She is an incredible pianist, and she would only let us do this shoot if we incorporated a Steinway & Sons piano.  We were able to fulfill her request courtesy of Daynes Music.

VOLITION MAG: What musical instruments do you play?

LINDSEY: I play the piano, the violin, and have also had some vocal training

(Violin- 8 years)

(Vocal- 7 years)

Read the rest of this story to read more of the interview and check out more pictures of Lindsey.

VM: What instruments do you like to play?

LINDSEY: I really enjoy them all. My main instrument is the piano, but it is fun to switch every now and then, if you have the ability to (play other instruments), why not? 🙂 I actually want to start learning how to play the guitar, the ukulele, and the cello.

VM: How long have you been playing piano?

LINDSEY: I have been playing for 17 years. I started when I was 5 years old.

VM: I know a guy who grudgingly took violin lessons while growing up, he became proficient, and when he gained enough autonomy to be on his own he quit playing entirely.  He hasn’t played in over 5 years.  Why hasn’t something like this happened to you?

LINDSEY: It’s funny that you ask that because when I was younger, I absolutely hated the piano. My Mom (piano major herself) forced me to practice and wouldn’t let me quit because she said that “I would one day regret it.” Fortunately, I had and STILL have an amazing piano professor, Dr. Susan Duehlmeier, who quickly involved me in numerous competitions and performances. These events motivated me to be really proficient at the piano. I guess you could say that it was my teacher who instilled in me a love for music. Most kids quit because they can’t see the end result. People think that playing the piano is easy, and that it can happen over night. What they don’t realize is that it takes YEARS of practice and study to become proficient. I am still working at it and always will be, but it is a thrilling and very satisfying experience. Music is universal in that it speaks to the soul. I love to be a part of that.

What music do you like to play (in general-like musical genre, and specifically-like a specific artist or song)?

I love Classical music. Of course I enjoy pop, R&B, jazz, and religious works, but I have been trained as a Classical artist.

People sometimes say playing music is cathartic, stress, relieving, and a form of meditation.  Does that apply to you?

Yes definitely. I always joke about it because really, music is the only thing that brings stress to my life (because I am a perfectionist), yet it is the only thing that can relieve it. I use music as a way of expressing myself, and it helps me to cope with life when things get rough.

How is piano playing a part of your present life?

Piano IS my life. Currently, I am working on a Masters degree in Piano Performance, I teach 18 private piano students; I accompany instrumental and vocal ensembles, and am working as a TA for the piano department at the University of Utah. Everything I do seems to be related to piano in one-way or another. 🙂

What is the best part about playing in front of an audience?  Worst part?

To be honest, I love the feeling I get AFTER I have played in front of an audience. There is just something about an audience’s applause, especially when they are all applauding for YOU. What a rush. It makes me smile! The worst part is definitely backstage BEFORE the performance. I am worried that my hands will sweat, my legs will shake, or that I might trip while walking to the piano haha.

During the summer what is your favorite outdoor activity?

I am not all that “outdoorsy”, but I do love to travel when I can. When I finish my Masters, my goal is to visit Europe.

What book do you recommend?  Movie?

In high school, I had to read “The Crucible” and the unabridged version of “Les Miserables.” I loved them both. In elementary, I read “The Watson’s Go To Birmingham” and still have not forgotten it. It was great. As for movies, “Hotel Rwanda.” On the Rwandan genocide, it is probably the saddest show I have seen, but it’s historical and eye opening. “It’s A Wonderful Life” and “Our Town” are also must-sees.


2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jackie Maynard permalink
    February 24, 2009 11:10 PM

    Lindsey has accomplished a lot for one so young. She has brains, beauty and talent,which explains why it’s such a pleasure to watch her perform.

  2. Donald Lewin Nelson permalink
    April 23, 2009 7:47 PM

    I discovered this when I was searching to see if you had any other videos up on the Internet. Hang tough kid, you will make.

    One final thought, my definition for luck is being prepared to take advantage of an unforeseen opportunity.

Leave a Reply

