Skip to content

Ta-Dah

September 2, 2008
Kickflip 5-0
Kickflip 5-0

Clifton Wallace is, for lack of a better term, a “Superstar.”  Ok, that was lame, but I couldn’t get Lupe Fiasco’s song “Superstar” out of my head after filming Clifton because that happens to be his ringtone and his damn phone wouldn’t stop blasting it.

I first noticed Clifton, similar to how his first and former sponsor, Zumiez, noticed him when he was in sixth grade, tearing up a local skate park.  Clifton, now 21, was dominating the volcano on 9th and 9th in West Salt Lake, when I asked him if I could take some photos of him.  He looked puzzled, took his ear buds out and asked “Me? I guess, if you want to?”

After he landed a monster frontside flip on the volcano he looked at a few frames, looked at me and said “I can kickflip 5-0 that ledge over there.”  I looked at the ledge and looked back at him … “OK.”  An hour later and dozens of tricks he had dialed we decided to rendezvous a week later and tear up some skate spots in his hometown … Kearns.

I made my first trip into the heart of Kearns to pick Clifton up at a Maverik near his home.  I watched him ollie over a massive cement barrier at Kearns High, first try, in between attempts he would reminisce about how when he was in high school he would have two tries to kickflip a ten stair, inside the school during lunch before he had to bail before the teachers or anybody would show up.

We stopped at a 7-eleven or “Seve,” as Clifton put it, to grab some water, he noticed that I caught a glimpse of a prescription pill bottle he was carrying and told me that is why he can’t drive, “epileptic seizures.  I hit my head really hard skateboarding when I was nine, I don’t know if I was dehydrated or what?” Clifton said.  Ultimately, that is why he     has epilepsy, a freak accident on a skateboard.

One would think by the way he punishes his board he is going to battle with it … and by the looks of it … he is winning.

Article and photography by Chad Phillips.

Huge Ollie Over DI Rail; Kearns
Huge Ollie Over DI Rail; Kearns
Backside Flip; Kearns
Backside Flip; Kearns
Air; Rose Park
Air; Rose Park
One Comment leave one →
  1. dima permalink
    October 17, 2008 1:14 PM

    Holy shit it’s mr wallace!!

Leave a Reply

